Fiction Flashback: The Fionavar Tapestry

Start your week of with some older titles that deserve a second look

The Fionavar Tapestry

by Guy Gavriel Kay

How have I been doing this for a whole year and not mention GGK?  Oh, that’s right.  GGK.  He’s that essential.


What’s it about?


In the three novels that make up the Fionavar Tapestry trilogy collected in this omnibus edition (The Summer TreeThe Wandering Fire, and The Darkest Road), five University of Toronto students find themselves transported to a magical land to do battle with the forces of evil. At a Celtic conference, Kimberley, Kevin, Jennifer, Dave, and Paul meet wizard Loren Silvercloak. Returning with him to the magical kingdom of Fionavar to attend a festival, they soon discover that they are being drawn into the conflict between the dark and the light….

Leave a Reply